Topic:   Avisaria   (Read 25567 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

GMG Tim


  • Administrator

  • GMG-er

  • *****


  • Posts: 465
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #90 on: December 11, 2008, 12:04:18 AM »
Maybe I should apply. :D Actually, I'm looking to do an internship at Apple next summer, but I'll keep Blizzard in mind (I think they also have an internship program).

Ghost

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #91 on: December 11, 2008, 12:31:43 AM »
If you get hired don't forget about us not so big time folks.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

EqwanoX


  • Administrator

  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • *****


  • Posts: 1180
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #92 on: December 11, 2008, 02:22:42 PM »
Quote
Sometimes if you have big, old, buggy, clunky, patched up code it can make sense to totally start over and maybe take a few good pieces from the old code and move it over to the new code.
yea thats kind of what i meant, i dont mean start over and reprogram it the same way it was before, i mean think of a new simpler way to do the same thing

EqwanoX


  • Administrator

  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • *****


  • Posts: 1180
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #93 on: December 11, 2008, 02:28:24 PM »
Quote

This is why I took issue with Eq saying that "actually reprogramming from scratch is common." It isn't common--
well i was referenceing back in the day of atari and nes games
Quote
On to another note: basic web design is very simple. Probably easier than coding a battle engine. However, when you're actually designing a website with a full content management system, or a billing system, or any other system really-- it gets much more complicated than a battle engine written in GameMaker.

thats debatable, a battle engine with multiple enemies is really hard ive been trying to do it for a while, im trying to simplify it down to something thats easy to work with

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #94 on: December 11, 2008, 02:58:26 PM »
Not sure if this is helpful or not, but here's a simple yet effective method to reduce code when referencing multiple entity's stats:

Code: [Select]
IF ActiveEnemy = 1 THEN enemystats = enemy1stats
IF ActiveEnemy = 2 THEN enemystats = enemy2stats
IF ActiveEnemy = 3 THEN enemystats = enemy3stats

Place a repeat loop around the usual NPC code and then reference the stats in the above way. The repeat loop should repeat the enemy's turn an amount of times equal to the amount of enemies in the battle, and each time it repeats it increases the value of ActiveEnemy by 1. ActiveEnemy is then reset to 1 on the player's turn.

I use that logic for the two player interface of ToF, and I originally started using it for an unfinished 4 player game. It's easy to work with. :)
« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 02:59:17 PM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

WarHampster


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1501

  • The People's Moderator
    • Arcade of the Absurd
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #95 on: December 11, 2008, 03:44:51 PM »
I have everything in an array like so:

LET active_baddies$ = 1,2,3,

where there are three baddies, named baddie 1, baddie 2, and baddie 2

To make a baddie active, I simply add an "a" after the baddie number. Example:

LET active_baddies$ = 1,2a,3,

That would mean that baddie 2 is active.

To figure out which baddie is active, you just search the array for the character "a", and then the number before that is the active baddie.

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #96 on: December 12, 2008, 07:39:51 AM »
Wow, this is sort of getting off topic.

I'm going to re-write Avisaria because I had found a great new way that will make Avisaria way more efficient. I have too much old code, and if I try to convert each bit of it, it will get very messy.

Also, when I start back on Avisaria, progress won't be going as fast as usual. I have two other priorities that are right up there. (1) Dive back into Xcode, going to post on forums about Quartz, going to get some answers. (2) Hopefully get a Intel mac for Christmas, than dive into the iPhone SDK.


-Gandolf

EqwanoX


  • Administrator

  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • *****


  • Posts: 1180
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #97 on: December 12, 2008, 09:13:59 AM »
how about

select case enemy$
case "monster1"
let stats$="10,29,38"
case "monster1"
let stats$="10,29,38"
case "monster1"
let stats$="10,29,38"
end select

let strength=val(nthfield$(stats$, 3, 1)
let accuaracy=val(nthfield$(stats$, 2, 1)
let evade=val(nthfield$(stats$, 1, 1)

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #98 on: January 17, 2009, 01:57:36 PM »
All Avisaria progress is now going on the Es forum.

Here's the link: http://estudios.conforums.com/index.cgi?board=sp&action=display&num=1232222186&start=0#1232222186


-Gandolf

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #99 on: February 27, 2010, 11:39:46 AM »
Hey guys, this has started back up again. This thread is kinda massively long and full of old stuff so I'll make a new one.


-Gan

EqwanoX


  • Administrator

  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • *****


  • Posts: 1180
Re: Avisaria
« Reply #100 on: February 27, 2010, 01:28:18 PM »
i like it all in one topic so you can see the whole history from the beggniing, when you break it up pieces get lost
« Last Edit: February 27, 2010, 01:31:50 PM by EqwanoX »