Topic:   GMOD?   (Read 20605 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2008, 09:06:04 AM »
So, you need to compile GMOD's source as an AS app and place it in the folder of your game?

I'm still not entirely sure what you mean by this:
Quote
Just wondering, how do you get the value of a variable in SC? (If anyone knows)

For Example:

Code: [Select]
Let online = 1

If online < 1 then
Blah...
else
CREATESPRITE Val(online), "man"
End If

Would the Val(online) work? Or is their some code that will put the value of the variable there?

Thanks,

-Gandolf
If you mean how do you reference the value of a variable, type the variable who's value you want to reference and incase it with $ marks. Like this:

PRINT $gold$
PRINT $playername$$

I think it's the same in SC.
I survived the spammage of 2007

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2008, 06:32:32 PM »
The engine doesn't seem to be working currently...

I am working on getting it fixed, and you need an id for each game, not value.

Mist
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2008, 03:07:42 PM »
Any progress on fixing GMOD?

-Gandolf

WarHampster


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1501

  • The People's Moderator
    • Arcade of the Absurd
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2008, 06:56:16 PM »
Gandolf, have you tested gmod with silver creator yet? I'd like to know if it actually does work.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #19 on: May 22, 2008, 02:21:55 AM »
He hasn't had a chance to try it yet for two reasons:

1: GMOD isn't working at the moment.
2: He'd need Mist's permission to compile the source code into an Apple Script application.

I think it would work though.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2008, 02:23:16 AM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #20 on: May 22, 2008, 06:08:34 AM »
Yes, hopefully it will work.

What I'm planning to do is:

(1) Make AppleScript check the data on GMOD and save it into a text file called ToSC in the same folder as the game.
(2) SilverCreator will then read the text file and according to the Variables, it will process everything happening, and create a new text file called ToGMOD right next to the old one which it will save all the new variables and AppleScript will send up to GMOD.
(3) Repeat.

I hope this process will work, though I might just have to take individual variables one at a time instead of all of them at once.

-Gandolf

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #21 on: May 22, 2008, 07:43:49 AM »
Quote
I hope this process will work, though I might just have to take individual variables one at a time instead of all of them at once.
I'd say so, but the above method would still work. So, what kind of game are you making?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2008, 07:44:02 AM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

EqwanoX


  • Administrator

  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • *****


  • Posts: 1180
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2008, 11:48:05 AM »
Quote
Sorry for double posting but I have a question about a sort of coding that will help a lot.

Just wondering, how do you get the value of a variable in SC? (If anyone knows)

For Example:

Code: [Select]
Let online = 1

If online < 1 then
Blah...
else
CREATESPRITE Val(online), "man"
End If

Would the Val(online) work? Or is their some code that will put the value of the variable there?

Thanks,

-Gandolf
are you asking how to use variables with sprite commands?

createsprite online, "man"

sinse online=1 then it would createspirte 1

WarHampster


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1501

  • The People's Moderator
    • Arcade of the Absurd
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #23 on: May 22, 2008, 02:29:12 PM »
That sounds like it could work Gandolf, but would it be fast enough for a game?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2008, 02:29:57 PM by WarHampster »

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #24 on: May 22, 2008, 03:25:36 PM »
GMOD progress is going slowly because I have a big project and am about to move :(

However, Gandolf has complete permission to use the code and make it into a AS application.

I will add a link to it from the GMOD website (If I'm allowed to).

Mist
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #25 on: May 22, 2008, 06:20:01 PM »
Quote
So, what kind of game are you making? -SilverWind
Well, so far that is a secret, I'm not sure if it will work, or if a roadblock comes up and it has to be discontinued.

Quote
are you asking how to use variables with sprite commands?  
 
createsprite online, "man"
 
sinse online=1 then it would createspirte 1  -EqwanoX

Ah... I feel so dumb...  That was exactly what I needed! Thanks EqwanoX!  :D

Quote
That sounds like it could work Gandolf, but would it be fast enough for a game?  - WarHampster

I'm going to try to get the variables from and to GMOD every .2 seconds.
Thats what I am hoping for, though I'm also trying to cut down my code as much as I can. I ran into this sprite movement code bug in my engine where the sprite would turn a certain direction, stop for half a second, then go. I'm trying to make that stop disappear.

Quote
However, Gandolf has complete permission to use the code and make it into a AS application.  - Mistron

Thanks  :D

-Gandolf

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #26 on: May 25, 2008, 09:19:41 AM »
GMOD progress will have to be held off until probally next week because I am very busy...

Sorry for the wait.

Mist
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #27 on: May 25, 2008, 09:28:21 AM »
Okay.
My progress on my game is booming. So I will stick up a little example of it a little later.

Thanks Mistron,

-Gandolf

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2008, 08:54:49 PM »
I was looking through the GMG pages when I came across something...

http://deviantpenguin.com/gmhs/

What if I re-did the AppleScript, sent the data to the SQL Server, and retrieved it when someone was playing.

Think that would work? Just might.

-Gandolf

P.S. Check my Space Game Topic and you will understand what I have been working on.

GMG Tim


  • Administrator

  • GMG-er

  • *****


  • Posts: 465
Re: GMOD?
« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2008, 10:24:22 PM »
That should work... but in GMHS, you can only retrieve all scores-- not a specific one.

Ghost