Topic:   Dot net is the best   (Read 11527 times)

WarHampster

• GMG Extraordinaire

• The People's Moderator
    • Arcade of the Absurd
Dot net is the best
« on: January 09, 2011, 11:42:14 AM »
I'm breaking my vow to never share projects until they are reasonably far along in development because I am a very happy programmer.

Hint: this is what SC3D was supposed to be.

Anyway I've had this running for a while, the reason I'm excited is that I now have it running on Windows, OSx, and potentially Linux. Check out the Mono project, it is a cross-platform runtime for dotnet (it runs on everything from the big three [Windows, OSx, Linux] to iOS). It was a struggle getting all the frameworks set up, but now I can recompile my project for any platform without changing the code.

Also C# is seriously the best language.

Gan

• Administrator

• ^ This guy is amazing.

Re: Dot net is the best
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2011, 12:13:10 PM »
I agree. I'm taking a joy ride in C# too at the moment. I love not having to worry about pointers and memory management.

Mystor

• GMG-er

• I am the myst that consumes us all.
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2011, 12:17:36 PM »
C# is amazing.

I don't have that vow, but I am making a RTS in it atm, (not very far along due to work, just have most of the pathfinding down)

Its so fast, efficient, and hopefully can be distributed everywhere.

<3 C#

Aaannddddd... Drumroll please

Apparently (I just checked because I felt like it) Unity is now FREE and runs on windows and Mac.

In addition, it can be programmed with C#

I think I just fell in love again O.o
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 01:44:57 PM by mistron »
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

x

• GMG-er

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2011, 06:41:44 PM »
I dislike C#, I call it "I can't believe its not Java".

Java > C#.