Topic:   Labyrinth Progress Topic   (Read 42034 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #45 on: May 22, 2008, 02:19:00 AM »
Quote
Doesn't matter its so much better the extra lines is worth it.
... ok. Seriously though, the code shouldn't take up anymore lines. Did you have to rearrange the order the sprites were loaded in to assure a positive was loaded last or something? If so you could get around that with a mere 1 more line of code by loading a transparent sprite last.

Quote
Also to abide to your request. of   "I'd love to see it running smoothly. :) "
 Here you go http://www.mediafire.com/?ymti2wadjyx This should run better.
That was cool. :)
I survived the spammage of 2007

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #46 on: May 22, 2008, 09:02:27 AM »
I was using a variable to show sprites so I had to rewrite a lot of code but it was surprisingly easy to do this.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #47 on: May 22, 2008, 09:23:45 AM »
Well anyway as I said before I am going to make 5 levels and see if any new features are needed then I make the last 5 levels with features included making a good 10 level game. So what features are needed or is it fine the way it is.

P.S. The current level 5 will be removed. It was only inserted to ensure a good last level battle.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2008, 09:25:39 AM by Tireas_Dragon »
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

EqwanoX


  • Administrator

  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • *****


  • Posts: 1180
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #48 on: May 22, 2008, 11:29:59 AM »
this is good but the walls are glitchy, in sc you can put "true" at the end of each sprite command to "hold" the command untill it reads a sprite command that reads "false" and all sprite commands that are being held execute simultaniously, is there something like that in gm?

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #49 on: May 22, 2008, 12:24:29 PM »
No I don't think gm has while loops. Like
 While x = y
  DO THIS UNTIL X <> Y
 NEXT
« Last Edit: May 22, 2008, 12:25:33 PM by Tireas_Dragon »
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #50 on: May 22, 2008, 12:43:23 PM »
Wow I just found a major glitch in labyrinth that causes the monster to not do anything. I think I have solved the problem tho. It will take further testing to see if it worked.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #51 on: May 22, 2008, 01:32:21 PM »
Quote
No I don't think gm has while loops. Like
 While x = y
 Â DO THIS UNTIL X <> Y
 NEXT
That would be useful indeed.
I survived the spammage of 2007

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #52 on: May 22, 2008, 01:43:52 PM »
Ok the Battle Engine is fixed. Heres the link
 Â http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?by1eos5rn32
Now not only will the first monster attack but all the monsters their after.

P.S. Don't press the tester button. All links have been updated.

« Last Edit: September 09, 2008, 05:34:43 PM by Tireas_Dragon »
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #53 on: May 22, 2008, 01:56:38 PM »
Quote
I was using a variable to show sprites so I had to rewrite a lot of code but it was surprisingly easy to do this.
I'm not sure if this helps, but the ABS command returns the positive value of a negative and visa-versa.
I survived the spammage of 2007

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #54 on: May 22, 2008, 02:07:46 PM »
I don't think that helps but I never use ABS for that purpose, in fact i never even used it. When ever I wanted to make a negative positive or vice versa I just (*-1) the variable.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2008, 03:01:27 PM by Tireas_Dragon »
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #55 on: May 22, 2008, 03:02:04 PM »
Yeah, that would produce the same result. :)
I survived the spammage of 2007

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #56 on: May 22, 2008, 03:04:39 PM »
To repeat what I said

Quote
Well anyway as I said before I am going to make 5 levels and see if any new features are needed then I make the last 5 levels with features included making a good 10 level game. So what features are needed or is it fine the way it is?
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #57 on: May 23, 2008, 04:15:06 AM »
Quote
this is good but the walls are glitchy, in sc you can put "true" at the end of each sprite command to "hold" the command untill it reads a sprite command that reads "false" and all sprite commands that are being held execute simultaniously, is there something like that in gm?

In GameMaker you do that by using a negative number for the sprites as Silverwind said. The negative sprite number will tell GameMaker not to show the sprite until a sprite with a positive number is used. Then it will show all of the sprites at once. This is the same thing SilverCreator  does with the true and false at the end of the command.

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #58 on: May 23, 2008, 04:16:31 AM »
Quote
No I don't think gm has while loops. Like
 While x = y
  DO THIS UNTIL X <> Y
 NEXT

You can use a REPEAT loop to do the same thing as a WHILE loop would do.

REPEAT
  ' blah blah
  IF X <> Y THEN EXIT REPEAT
END REPEAT

You can also use the Loop Script option if it's in a card script to keep looping through the script.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2008, 04:19:43 AM by AlStaffieri »

EqwanoX


  • Administrator

  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • *****


  • Posts: 1180
Re: Labyrinth Progress Topic
« Reply #59 on: May 23, 2008, 08:42:43 AM »
Quote

In GameMaker you do that by using a negative number for the sprites as Silverwind said. The negative sprite number will tell GameMaker not to show the sprite until a sprite with a positive number is used. Then it will show all of the sprites at once. This is the same thing SilverCreator  does with the true and false at the end of the command.
this is what i was talking about dragon. instead of executeing each sprite command individually it would execute all simultaniously
« Last Edit: May 23, 2008, 08:43:49 AM by EqwanoX »