Topic:   Tides of Fáden (out of production)   (Read 50101 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Tides of Fáden (out of production)
« on: September 23, 2008, 11:25:50 AM »
I figured it'd be a good idea to start an official topic now that the game's getting some serious progress done on it. I've moved to file to my own computer, so now I have all the up to date sprites and resources at my finger tips. Mwahahaha!

Anywhoo, progress is going great, and I made a Jingcast to prove it: http://screencast.com/t/iwDyJb0vDTk

I'm gonna go about building this game the right way this time. I'll design a small chunk of the game world, release the game, and add to it later as I think of ideas. That way I won't be pressured to work on it and progress will probably zoom along! :)
« Last Edit: October 17, 2009, 08:18:16 PM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Charlo


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 451
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 08:38:21 PM »
Looks good so far.  :)

WarHampster


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1501

  • The People's Moderator
    • Arcade of the Absurd
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 10:43:01 PM »
I'm not so sure that I like the battle engine... just walking into an enemy to damage it doesn't leave much room for strategy.

That could be fixed by making your characters extremely customizable, however.

The character creation and loading are looking good!

Also, will you be keeping the grid that separates the tiles in the final version?  

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2008, 11:49:58 PM »
Hmm 700 lines eh? That seems a bit extensive. Why so many lines of code? Is the battle engine really that powerful?
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2008, 03:02:12 AM »
Quote
I'm not so sure that I like the battle engine... just walking into an enemy to damage it doesn't leave much room for strategy.
Well, most ORPGs use this kind of interface. Usually characters can't stand on the same spaces though, they just bump into each other, but that'd be too many lines in GM to fit into my routine.

Quote
Also, will you be keeping the grid that separates the tiles in the final version?  
Yes, I think so. My revamped tileset isn't near finished yet. If I get it done in time I'll use it though. :)

Quote
Hmm 700 lines eh? That seems a bit extensive. Why so many lines of code? Is the battle engine really that powerful?
Unfortunately the battle engine has to be kept fairly simple to fit in the routine's code limit. Here's what it looks like:
Code: [Select]
'----BATTLE-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Â IF P1hitNPC > 0 THEN
 Â   SOUND Attack
 Â   reprintHP = 1
 Â   damage = RANDOM baseweapondamage
 Â   damage = damage + P1ATK
 Â   damage = damage - enemyDEF
 Â   IF damage < 0 THEN damage = 0
 Â   enemyHP = enemyHP - damage
 Â   damage = RANDOM baseweapondamage
 Â   damage = damage + enemyATK
 Â   damage = damage - P1DEF
 Â   IF damage < 0 THEN damage = 0
 Â   P1HP = P1HP - damage
 Â END IF
 Â IF P2hitNPC > 0 THEN
 Â   SOUND Attack
 Â   reprintHP = 1
 Â   damage = RANDOM baseweapondamage
 Â   damage = damage + P2ATK
 Â   damage = damage - enemyDEF
 Â   IF damage < 0 THEN damage = 0
 Â   enemyHP = enemyHP - damage
 Â   reprint = 1
 Â   damage = RANDOM baseweapondamage
 Â   damage = damage + enemyATK
 Â   damage = damage - P2DEF
 Â   IF damage < 0 THEN damage = 0
 Â   P2HP = P2HP - damage
 Â END IF

 Â IF reprintHP = 1 THEN
 Â   reprintHP = 0
 Â   IF P1alive > 0 THEN
 Â     SHOWBUTTON 1 $P1name$$ $P1HP$
 Â     IF P1HP < 1 THEN P1alive = -1
 Â     IF P1HP < 1 THEN SPRITE -15
 Â     IF P1HP < 1 THEN HIDEBUTTON 1
 Â     IF P1HP < 1 THEN SOUND Player Dying
 Â   END IF
 Â   IF P2alive > 0 THEN
 Â     SHOWBUTTON 2 $P2name$$ $P2HP$
 Â     IF P2HP < 1 THEN P2alive = -1
 Â     IF P2HP < 1 THEN SPRITE -14
 Â     IF P2HP < 1 THEN HIDEBUTTON 2
 Â     IF P2HP < 1 THEN SOUND Player Dying
 Â   END IF
 Â   IF NPCalive > 0 THEN
 Â     SHOWBUTTON 3 $enemyname$$ $enemyHP$
 Â     IF enemyHP < 1 THEN
 Â       NPCalive = 0
 Â       SPRITE -13 1000 1000
 Â       HIDEBUTTON 3
 Â       SOUND Enemy Dying
 Â       IF P1hitNPC = 1 THEN
 Â         P1EXP = P1EXP - enemyEXPvalue
 Â         IF P1EXP < 0 THEN P1EXP = 0
 Â         P1gold = P1gold + enemygoldvalue
 Â         IF P1gold > maxgold THEN P1gold = maxplayergold
 Â       END IF
 Â       IF P2hitNPC = 1 THEN
 Â         P2EXP = P2EXP - enemyEXPvalue
 Â         IF P2EXP < 0 THEN P2EXP = 0
 Â         P2gold = P2gold + enemygoldvalue
 Â         IF P2gold > maxgold THEN P2gold = maxplayergold
 Â       END IF
 Â     END IF
 Â   END IF
 Â   IF P1alive < 1 THEN
 Â     IF P2alive < 1 THEN
 Â       ALERT You've been defeated! You surrender your gold and equipment and retreat to the nearest inn...
 Â       GOTOCARD 244
 Â     END IF
 Â   END IF
 Â END IF
'---/BATTLE-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Because there's two player's to accommodate for, the code quickly becomes chunky.

EDIT:

Here's a picture of the starting town with the new tileset:

I can't wait to make a game with those graphics! :D
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 03:18:49 AM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Swamp7hing


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 751

  • I come from the swamps.
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2008, 08:44:20 AM »
*drools* Silver, you've outdone yourself, those graphics are awesome and the game is looking great - I swear, you're going to be a professional game developer! You already talk like one!

Great work, makes me want to JOIN Roguesoft! It would be like an actual company! :D

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2008, 09:28:13 AM »
Ya I think when you said the mountain tile wasn't done you weren't kidding. Also, those are great graphics. That code seems to have certain lines repeated wouldn't it be easier to have it so the variables are declared first then the code takes place as in:

 Â IF P1hitNPC > 0 THEN
 Â   PATK = P2ATK
 Â   PDEF = P2DEF
 Â   PHP = P1HP
 Â   enterscript = 1
 Â END IF
 Â IF P2hitNPC > 0 THEN
 Â   PATK = P2ATK
 Â   PDEF = P2DEF
 Â   PHP = P2HP
 Â   enterscript = 1
 Â END IF
 Â IF enterscript = 1 THEN
 Â   enterscript = 0
 Â   SOUND Attack
 Â   reprintHP = 1
 Â   damage = RANDOM baseweapondamage
 Â   damage = damage + PATK
 Â   damage = damage - enemyDEF
 Â   IF damage < 0 THEN damage = 0
 Â   enemyHP = enemyHP - damage
 Â   reprint = 1
 Â   damage = RANDOM baseweapondamage
 Â   damage = damage + enemyATK
 Â   damage = damage - PDEF
 Â   IF damage < 0 THEN damage = 0
 Â   PHP = PHP - damage
 Â   IF P1hitNPC > 0 THEN PHP = P1HP
 Â   IF P2hitNPC > 0 THEN PHP = P2HP
 Â END IF

I hope that helps you.
EDIT: This may take more lines, but it will really help if you ever need to modify the battle script.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 09:43:27 AM by Tireas_Dragon »
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2008, 01:01:02 PM »
I watched the video. Very cool. I'm getting ready to release a 3.9.92 update. Would 750 line max help? I was going to increase it to around that for 4.0 anyway, so I might be able to do it now for 3.9.92. I'll look at my code and see if it's easily doable at this point.

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2008, 01:37:27 PM »
750!? WOW That would be extremely useful if I needed to do some long task that for some reason takes 503 lines of code.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2008, 04:15:02 PM »
Quote
*drools* Silver, you've outdone yourself, those graphics are awesome and the game is looking great - I swear, you're going to be a professional game developer! You already talk like one!

Great work, makes me want to JOIN Roguesoft! It would be like an actual company! :D
;D Infinite encouragement! Or if you're Latin: Consolatio Infinitus! Thanks Swamp, you'll be the first one I ask when I start looking for more Roguesoft developers! ;)

Quote
Ya I think when you said the mountain tile wasn't done you weren't kidding. Also, those are great graphics. That code seems to have certain lines repeated wouldn't it be easier to have it so the variables are declared first then the code takes place as in:

 Â IF P1hitNPC > 0 THEN
 Â   PATK = P2ATK
 Â   PDEF = P2DEF
 Â   PHP = P1HP
 Â   enterscript = 1
 Â END IF
 Â IF P2hitNPC > 0 THEN
 Â   PATK = P2ATK
 Â   PDEF = P2DEF
 Â   PHP = P2HP
 Â   enterscript = 1
 Â END IF
 Â IF enterscript = 1 THEN
 Â   enterscript = 0
 Â   SOUND Attack
 Â   reprintHP = 1
 Â   damage = RANDOM baseweapondamage
 Â   damage = damage + PATK
 Â   damage = damage - enemyDEF
 Â   IF damage < 0 THEN damage = 0
 Â   enemyHP = enemyHP - damage
 Â   reprint = 1
 Â   damage = RANDOM baseweapondamage
 Â   damage = damage + enemyATK
 Â   damage = damage - PDEF
 Â   IF damage < 0 THEN damage = 0
 Â   PHP = PHP - damage
 Â   IF P1hitNPC > 0 THEN PHP = P1HP
 Â   IF P2hitNPC > 0 THEN PHP = P2HP
 Â END IF

I hope that helps you.
EDIT: This may take more lines, but it will really help if you ever need to modify the battle script.
Thanks TD, that's a good idea. I actually mod the battle routine quite frequently (already I've improved the EXP award routine and fixed a few incorrectly referenced vars (can anyone spot them?)) using GM's Find and Replace feature to quickly translate P1 to P2 code. :)

Quote
I watched the video. Very cool. I'm getting ready to release a 3.9.92 update. Would 750 line max help? I was going to increase it to around that for 4.0 anyway, so I might be able to do it now for 3.9.92. I'll look at my code and see if it's easily doable at this point.
WOW! 750 LoC would be tremendously awesome, almost dangerously so! That'd make Examining things much easier. (I was beginning to think I'd have to use separate cards ;D ) Fingers crossed in anticipation. :)

Glad you all like the preview, and hopefully I'll have a beta out soon if not version 1.0.0.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 04:26:05 PM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2008, 04:59:18 PM »
Wow I wish progress in my game was going that well.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Swamp7hing


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 751

  • I come from the swamps.
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2008, 11:05:10 AM »
Any progress Silver?

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2008, 01:32:08 PM »
At the speed he's going he probably has 5/8 the game done by now.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2008, 04:09:58 AM »
I got nothing done over the weekend, but on Friday I updated the player's code considerably. The problem is that if I find a bug or realize that there's a change I need to make in the keydown code, I have to update the code on every card, and that tremendously slows down progress. (it's the main reason why QoM took forever to finish) This being so, I'm trying to find a way to keep the keydown code on a single card like I did with the timer code for NPCs. The problem is, doing that would leave very little room for "room content" customization, if it's even possible at all. I'll keep trying though.

I'm getting a bit of work done on the enemy tables as well, and it's looking good so far.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2008, 04:13:08 AM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Tides of Fáden (in production)
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2008, 09:32:43 AM »
You set up the ON TIMER on every card to individually check what you are standing on so you don't have to worry about that.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.