Topic:   Doors OS 1.0   (Read 14361 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Doors OS 1.0
« on: November 26, 2009, 10:33:26 PM »
Mike released a new version of Sc and I was inspired by Windox... so:
Doors OS 1.0
This isn't your average fake operating system, it's that and a little more.
Using Sc's newest drawing and array features I was able to simulate a very realistic looking operating system. Most would have separate cards for each action with no coding involved, but I decided to change that. This uses only 1 card and is all coding. Uses only 2 sprites, and that's for the door logos.
Mac/Windows/Source: Door OS 1.0
The whole minimum infrastructure is created, if someone wanted to add applications, files, or more folders; I made room for more code. The only block is your motivation and the complexity of the code.
Of course if somehow Mike was able to add structs/classes to Sc, I could destroy the complexity down to a very low level.


-Gandolf
P.S. Anyone get the jokes? (Not just the ones at the beginning before the pulsing logo)
P.S.S. Now I can officially go back to the iPhone Project.
EDIT: Link now fixed.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2009, 11:28:07 PM by Gandolf »

GMG Hendo


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 155

  • [WITTY TEXT GOES HERE]
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2009, 11:48:04 PM »
Really cool Gan, well done!!

GuthanSoftware


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 105

  • GuthanSoftware
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2009, 09:03:23 AM »
Well done Gandolf, and I'm happy I inspired someone  :P I think I might have to make a new Windox using some resources from doors. For instance the sizeable windows, and timer.
Stupid Test Creator
Sim School Creator
Windox Creator
and more

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2009, 09:10:52 AM »
Thanks. :) Take whatever you need from it, doors is 100% free to the public. I'd love to see Windox advance further. Though just remember, even simple things like resizing a window can get very complicated really fast.
Doors is able to do some special things with drawing/painting commands. Gm doesn't have those, I'm not quite sure how you'd do a few window/resizing/moving feature.

-Gandolf
« Last Edit: November 27, 2009, 09:13:44 AM by Gandolf »

GuthanSoftware


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 105

  • GuthanSoftware
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2009, 10:30:54 AM »
I'm moving to Sc to build a new Os. It'll be nice using a big window :)
« Last Edit: November 27, 2009, 10:31:13 AM by Guthan »
Stupid Test Creator
Sim School Creator
Windox Creator
and more

Gnome


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1073
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2009, 10:35:13 AM »
I finally get the point of a DRAW command, you can resize in realtime. What other things can it do?
This Cannot be, NOOOOOOOO!!!!

-Gnomes Cry when the McRib was discontinued again.

GuthanSoftware


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 105

  • GuthanSoftware
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2009, 10:45:00 AM »
Quick question... This'll sound noobish but I'm new to Sc... How do you make it like in 3 seconds or something go to card 2. I know how easy it is in Gm but yeah... I need help.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2009, 11:52:31 AM by Guthan »
Stupid Test Creator
Sim School Creator
Windox Creator
and more

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2009, 11:58:07 AM »
Quote
I finally get the point of a DRAW command, you can resize in realtime. What other things can it do?
Anything... You can draw absolutely anything you want in real time. No need to make sprites, have a sprite limit, ect... The only bounds are your imagination. If you can't think of anything, you'll see amazing new things you can do in time to come.

Quote
Quick question... This'll sound noobish but I'm new to Sc... How do you make it like in 3 seconds or something go to card 2. I know how easy it is in Gm but yeah... I need help.
Truthfully... I have no idea how to set cards to automatically go without code.
I do know how to make it go in code:
In Open Game Event make a timer run on 1 tick. Then make a variable that counts up and when you are on a certain card, make it switch to a different card when the counting variable is equal to 180. That'll give you what you want.


-Gandolf

Teruri


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 167

  • This personal text couldn\'t be worse
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2009, 03:56:31 PM »
Quote
Quick question... This'll sound noobish but I'm new to Sc... How do you make it like in 3 seconds or something go to card 2. I know how easy it is in Gm but yeah... I need help.

Or if nothing exciting happens on card 1 (no code to execute other than go to card) you could use the wait command.
Code: [Select]
wait 180
gotocard 2

This will wait 180 ticks (about 3 seconds) and then go to card 2.
Max 500; characters remaining: 466

GMG Hendo


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 155

  • [WITTY TEXT GOES HERE]
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2009, 08:21:55 PM »
Quote
I finally get the point of a DRAW command, you can resize in realtime. What other things can it do?

Live animations too

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2009, 09:40:37 PM »
Yeah. You know, I think I can finish my ScAnimate app with drawing commands now...


-Gandolf

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2009, 10:30:51 AM »
Woh, odd demo, and yet it reeks of powerful commands. What's the syntax of draw?
I survived the spammage of 2007

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2009, 06:40:49 PM »
Draw Line
Code: [Select]
DRAWLINE 0, 200, 300, 200     // horizontal line
Draw Oval
Code: [Select]
DRAWOVAL 100, 100, 200, 200
Draw Rect
Code: [Select]
DRAWRECT 100, 100, 200, 200
Draw Round Rect
Code: [Select]
DRAWROUNDRECT 100, 100, 200, 200, 16, 16
Draw String
Code: [Select]
DRAWSTRING "Hello", 50, 50, "Chicago", 48
Draw Filled Oval
Code: [Select]
FILLOVAL 100, 100, 200, 200
Draw Filled Rect
Code: [Select]
FILLRECT 100, 100, 200, 200
Draw Filled Round Rect
Code: [Select]
FILLROUNDRECT 100, 100, 200, 200, 16, 6
Set Pen Color
Code: [Select]
SETPENCOLOR 0, 0, 0         // black
SETPENCOLOR 255, 0, 0       // red
SETPENCOLOR 0, 255, 0       // green
SETPENCOLOR 0, 0, 255       // blue
SETPENCOLOR 255, 255, 255   // white
Set Pen Size
Code: [Select]
SETPENSIZE 10, 1
DRAWRECT 50, 50, 100, 100
Update Screen
Code: [Select]
// update the screen at least once per second
ON TIMER 60
   UPDATESCREEN
END TIMER
That's it. Much faster than sprites and way more versatile.


-Gandolf

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2009, 06:45:01 PM »
Draw string?! By thunder that's useful! :o

Say Al, do you reckon something like that is possible for 4.0?
I survived the spammage of 2007

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: Doors OS 1.0
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2009, 11:43:31 PM »
Quote
Say Al, do you reckon something like that is possible for 4.0?

I just saved a copy of all of those commands. I'll see if I can do them.