Topic:   Neo Sprite   (Read 21553 times)

j

• GMG Newbie

Neo Sprite
« on: June 14, 2008, 03:26:09 AM »
Hey guys, I'm new to the new GMG, but I was around the old one way back when (dunno if GameSifter rings any bells here). Anyway, less talk, more code.

With the more recent additions (recent for me anyway) to GM's sprite capabilities and keydown, I've set out to create a new GM system for handling sprite movement. As a side goal to this, I'm hoping it'll emphasize some of the more subtle tweaks Al can make to GM scripting in time for 4.0.

The name of the system will be Neo Sprite. Unoriginal, sure, but relevant imo.

From here on out, you can always download the latest build here:

http://www.jadaco.net/neosprite.zip

Documentation is in the form of commented scripts within the GM source file. Right now it's at the "okay, well it works" stage. There are some optimizations still left to do (though I have made more than a few passes at that already) and I know I'm probably overlooking some redundant code. Hopefully it'll be a learning experience for some people as it is already.

Give it a look, tell me what you think, and I'd love to get any feedback on how to improve it and expand it.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2008, 03:27:10 AM by Jadaco »

Silverwind

• ^ This guy is amazing.

• For the glory of my maker
Re: Neo Sprite
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2008, 03:30:33 AM »
I'm downloading it now. What exactly is it? Code that makes sprite movement smoother?

EDIT:

Looks great! It'd be perfect for a side scroller. I don't really understand what the problem with changing cards is though. Can't you just put something like "IF playerXYlocation = suchAndSuch THEN GOTOCARD whatever" after each movement routine?
« Last Edit: June 14, 2008, 03:41:34 AM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

j

• GMG Newbie

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2008, 10:11:41 AM »