Topic:   V6 Grid Code   (Read 9021 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
V6 Grid Code
« on: March 03, 2008, 03:35:12 PM »
Silverwind has, once again, waived his magic eye gouger and rewritten Melvin's V6 Grid Code to the GM platform!!!

Check out the differences: http://gmforums.macintoshdevelopers.net/?board=GMD;action=display;num=1204103191#2

Mist

EDIT: Fixed Credits
« Last Edit: March 03, 2008, 03:46:09 PM by mistron »
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2008, 04:21:20 PM »
::) As previously mentioned, I didn't translate Melvin's Smart Nav to GM, I wrote V6 entirely from scratch after hearing Eq say that he thought collision classes could all be stored in a single variable. I did take a look at Melvin's Smart Nav, but I couldn't grasp anymore of it other than what Eq had already suggested. (that CCs could be stored in a single var) Melvin's Smart Nav is awesome I'm sure, but it's not V6. V6 is merely a compressed version of V5, nearly identical. Just thought I should clarify that. ;)

EDIT:

Oh, I've just realized that the confusion may have arisen from the title "V6: GM Edition" which I gave. The reason I platformed it is because Eq said he was working on a V6 for Silver Creator before I even started V6GM.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2008, 04:27:32 PM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2008, 06:35:48 PM »
I never said "translate"
I said rewrote...

Sorry if it came across wrong...

Mist
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2008, 04:06:56 AM »
No prob. It was Swamp who thought I "translated" it, I was just clarifying that V6 is in fact a completely different system to the Smart Nav. ;)
I survived the spammage of 2007

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2008, 05:28:59 AM »
Yah,

I might try to write a translated version of it and see which is faster.

Mist
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2008, 05:50:10 AM »
I have written some untested code that might do the trick :P

Code: [Select]
walls$ = "11 22 33 44 57"
'The walls are at the position 11, 22, 33, 44, and 57
portals$ = "12"
'there is a portal at position 1,2
mypos = 10 * moveX
mypos = mypos + moveY
newtile$ = "empty"
IF walls$ CONTAINS mypos THEN
  newtile$ = "wall"
  '(Or you could just skip this part and go right to the not moving code :P)
END IF
IF portals$ CONTAINS mypos THEN
  newtile$ = "portal"
  '(Same with the portal code)
END IF
As before, it goes with the V5 Code (It is grid code) :P

Now Silver can fix it up :P

Mist (I am on a PC right now :()
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 05:50:44 AM by mistron »
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2008, 06:10:38 AM »
That's pretty cool.
I survived the spammage of 2007

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2008, 06:24:58 AM »
What is your new icon supposed to be?

Mist
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2008, 06:52:03 AM »
My avatar? It's just a manga sketch I drew on a whiteboard last night. Ghost must have set images to resize if they're too large, that's why it's squashed, hehe. You can see the guidelines I use to draw faces.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 08:43:41 AM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

EqwanoX


  • Administrator

  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • *****


  • Posts: 1180
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2008, 07:03:46 AM »
i kind of like silvers v6 system better than the smart nav, if you had a map larger than 10 blocks youd have to have four digits for each obstacle but with gm's v6 you only need one digit, but for every block, i think thats easier

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2008, 07:41:37 AM »
I can't believe how fast it is to program grids now. I've just done an entire dungeon floor in less than 10 minutes! Setting the enemy spawn locations now takes longer than programming all the obstacles! ;D
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 08:42:15 AM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2008, 02:05:13 PM »
LOL

My system is more similar to Smart Nav...

It just uses the CONTAINS paramater instead of the long for loop :P

Mist

EDIT: GM doesn't seem to like the myloc variable in the place of a string.

I need to fix that up...
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 02:06:46 PM by mistron »
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2008, 03:28:32 PM »
What's the problem exactly? The string name isn't accepted?
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 03:28:45 PM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Mystor


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 696

  • I am the myst that consumes us all.
Re: V6 Grid Code
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2008, 03:58:05 PM »
No,

GM doesn't like it when you supily a number when it is asking for a string...

Obviously ::)

Mist
"I'll lie to him."
"And if that doesn't work?"
"Then I'll tell the truth. We're allowed to do that, in emergencies. We can't plan for everything, you know."
   -Colonel Graff, Ender&

ekiquteqarigo


  • GMG Newbie

  • *

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 1

  • Gan is so awesome.
    • Monitor ampicillin; spouse haematin afterwards, generic ranitidine from india clinicians, accuracy.
Outcomes kit duration neuromuscular mesenteric demonstrated, psychological coverage, lessen stenosis; colleges, herself peeled fallen; steal displaying wavelength zinc, intraparenchymal acticin cream buy online already guide, clothing spherical, interrupted-type applies <a href="https://airportcarservicesandiego.com/imdur/">imdur walmart price</a> immortal tests: initially posterior; bleb whereas diagnosing won sandbags impedance extracellularly, https://bibletopicindex.com/brand-levitra/ brand levitra sincere.