Game Maker's Garage Forum

Game Maker's Garage => Contests => Topic started by: Connors on December 18, 2010, 01:01:29 AM

Title: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on December 18, 2010, 01:01:29 AM
I decided on a basic point-and-click puzzle adventure, based on the game I started earlier, at the time it was called Dungeon Escape. I was thinking about using GM's inventory before, but making a graphical one was way more fun.
https://sites.google.com/site/onronc/PnCEngineTest.zip?attredirects=0&d=
This is a link for the test of my brand new inventory system!
You click the button to open it and it shows you what items you have, and it closes if you click the button or automatically when you go to another card. I want to add a "use" button that lets you click the object on something on screen, and an "equip" button that lets you hold it in your hand. (like the lantern, or maybe a weapon)

TO-DO LIST:
 - equipping items
 - use button
 - "lighting"
 - floating text labels (shows the name of what you're hovering over)
 - (maybe) let the player re-organize the items
 - (maybe) dropping things on the ground.
 - 1st puzzle: (Easy) Escape the cell.
 - 2nd puzzle: ?
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: EqwanoX on December 18, 2010, 08:47:05 AM
it might be easier if you used spritetouchingxy command instead of click areas
in mousedown:

if spritetouchingxy(spritenumber, mousex, mousey)=true then
code
end if

have numerous actions for one mouse button can get tricky, you might be better off with just clicking the item to either use it or equip it, dont bother with reorganizing. an easy way to show an item is equiped is by highlighting it with paint commands, when clicked:

 let equipsprite=spritenumber

then in the global paint event, in one line of code this will highlight the item

setpensize 3,3
setpencolor 0,250,0
if spritevalid(equipsprite)=true then drawrect spritex(equipsprite), spritey(equipsprite), spritewidth(equipsprite), spriteheight(equipsprite)


Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on December 18, 2010, 11:24:23 AM
Thanks for the tips! The click areas were sort of temporary so I could try it but the sprites do make more sense.
As for equipping/using items, I'll probably let the player equip one at a time, and that's the one you carry around, and the rest are in pockets or whatever. The use button will let you use an item on something in the scene.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on December 19, 2010, 09:55:06 PM
 Updated the to-do list.
 Trying to figure the best way to draw a sprite behind the bars of a cell. I don't want to make them a sprite but I could....
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: EqwanoX on December 20, 2010, 10:07:37 AM
is this in sc? just hold out till b3 comes out itll allow you to render sprites over paint commands
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on December 20, 2010, 09:06:06 PM
I meant a sprite of an item you pick up is behind something. I fixed it. Screenshots!
It's the 1st room and a new, shiny inventory. Photoshop is the best!
(http://sites.google.com/site/onronc/Picture10.png)
(http://sites.google.com/site/onronc/Picture11.png)
OK so these images aren't working, just copy and paste each URL. EDIT: ** Now I can see them. WTF? **
So, guys, where can I put them that this site can show them? Deviantart won't work anymore and this is my google space which also isn't showing them.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Charlo on December 20, 2010, 09:22:55 PM
You gotta use [ img ] tags.  Or is that what you're using and it didn't work?
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on December 20, 2010, 10:18:16 PM
I did use image tags, I've done it before. Just certain images aren't working. dA changed something so that won't work, and neither will my icon from Youtube or those two screenshots.
EDIT: I just came back and they work now. isn't it great?
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: WarHampster on December 21, 2010, 12:40:37 AM
Looking good! I sometimes forget that GM and SC were originally made for point and click adventures.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on December 21, 2010, 11:25:02 AM
That's why I picked this game. I figured once I have the engine finished I can keep adding rooms until the time is up. And I think I want to continue this after January 10th, I'm just going to submit what I can get done, like a beta version.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Silverwind on December 21, 2010, 01:32:23 PM
Looks awesome Con! :D
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Xiphos on December 21, 2010, 03:00:31 PM
I really like the inventory screen!
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on December 22, 2010, 10:05:15 PM
Thanks guys, you're all really helpful. (especially considering it's a competition :P)
I'm gonna be gone for about 6 days so I probably can't work on this during that time. :( Except I can still make up some good puzzles. (muahahahaha (http://gamemakersgarage.com/yabb/images/laugh.gif))
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on January 02, 2011, 12:26:34 AM
I GOT THE USE ITEMS BUTTON TO WORK!!!  ;D ;D ;D
It was being glitchy. So was the lighting. Now you can equip or use items, so I can continue with building more rooms, because the inventory is done. I'm gonna tweak a few things tomorrow and try to have another test version ready! Still deciding how the layout of all the rooms/puzzles will work out so as to make the game challenging but not ridiculous, i.e. "How the #### was I supposed to know to click that??"

PS: I can't find a way to change the card's titles in SC and it's driving me nuts. It would help the game if there was a simple room title at the top like "Jail Cell" or "Escape Tunnel" or "River Bank" or "That One Room That Creeps You Out For Some Reason"...little help plz? :P

PPS: Also need a better font than "Chicago" but I hate searching through them. What's a good one?
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Gan on January 02, 2011, 12:46:26 AM
Comic Sans
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: EqwanoX on January 02, 2011, 08:52:18 AM
setwindowtitle "jail"
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Charlo on January 02, 2011, 01:18:35 PM
Quote
Comic Sans
Don't listen to Gan, he's joking.  Right????
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on January 02, 2011, 09:09:13 PM
https://sites.google.com/site/onronc/GamesPage/DungeonEscape.zip?attredirects=0&d=1
Here's a playable version of the first piece of the game, the bed graphic/a couple rooms aren't done, but the inventory works. Tell me what you think/if I can improve anything. Like I said I don't want it to be too confusing. Oh by the way I plan to a plot and maybe it will be a video that plays. It's something like this:
     The town you're in was overrun by pirates and you tried to go against them. They captured you and threw you in the jail of your own town. Now your main goal is to get the **** out and not get killed by pirates. Luckily, they didn't know what the town guards knew about a certain cell...

Quote
Don't listen to Gan, he's joking.  Right????
I hope he's joking. XD BTW I was thinking it would at least look slightly better if I just drew the strings twice so there's a shadow. It's easy and looks a little bit more professional.

PS: Silverwind I was messing with Photoshop and I think I found out exactly how you made the Quest of Magic logo. (LOL)
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Silverwind on January 03, 2011, 05:33:18 AM
Quote
PS: Silverwind I was messing with Photoshop and I think I found out exactly how you made the Quest of Magic logo. (LOL)
Cool, post up a pic! I lost the original .psd with the hard drive wipe of 72.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: EqwanoX on January 03, 2011, 10:41:22 AM
i cant get the lantern so i cant get past the hole
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on January 03, 2011, 05:49:19 PM
You can open the hatch on the cell door.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: WarHampster on January 03, 2011, 07:00:36 PM
I got to the end of the demo, nice.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on January 04, 2011, 06:06:44 PM
Hey guys is there a way to reset the program or all the variables so you can start a new game without quitting? Otherwise I can't let the player start over after they die because they will have all their items back and everything will be the way it was. There's too many variables right now for me to want to program them all individually.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: WarHampster on January 04, 2011, 07:10:41 PM
RESET

 ;)
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Silverwind on January 05, 2011, 07:00:30 AM
And INVENTORY DELETE will empty the player's inventory. :)
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on January 05, 2011, 04:20:15 PM
Silver Creator, remember??
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on January 16, 2011, 10:55:51 PM
OK I really want to add a puzzle or two to the rooms I have set up but I'm a bit stuck. Which stinks because of the deadline coming up... I shall enlist my friend Henry to help with ideas, as it's very close to being a good puzzle but it's hard to flesh out details. I don't really want to give it away here, either.
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on January 18, 2011, 09:27:19 PM
Newest additions:
More rooms/more items
annoying mean troll
mushrooms!
Title: Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
Post by: Connors on July 06, 2011, 11:27:28 AM
Okay, first chance I get I'm re-writing some of this code so I can get back on it. I think it's my oldest official project at the moment, I started this before Light Maze and that platformer thing (I still want to fix that up).
The first chance I get I'm going to mull over puzzle ideas with friends so I can work on this when I'm sick of TNTBasic and programming. (this was easier to program) :)