Topic:   GameMaker v3.9.93   (Read 30785 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
GameMaker v3.9.93
« on: February 08, 2009, 05:26:59 PM »
GameMaker has been updated to version 3.9.93. You can download the latest update patch from the GameMaker web site at:
http://www.macgamemaker.com

v3.9.93 - 2/08/09
-FIX: There was still a REPEAT bug that caused an error when changing cards from inside a REPEAT loop with GOTOCARD command.
-FIX: A change in the graphics copying routines caused crashes when using Undo menu or the selection tool.


Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2009, 05:47:22 PM »
Cool, downloading now!

btw, the GM homepage still has 3.9.92 listed as the latest version. Just mentioning it incase you missed it. :)

EDIT:

That's odd, the download is the 3.9.92 updater for me, and like last time the un-archived folder isn't showing up.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 05:53:54 PM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 12:22:39 PM »
Go back to the GameMaker web page and hit the refresh button on your browser. It should be the updated page.

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2009, 12:56:39 PM »
THANK-YOU SO VERY MUCH NOW I CAN UNDO A MISTAKE!!!!
« Last Edit: February 09, 2009, 06:44:52 PM by Tireas_Dragon »
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2009, 09:18:44 AM »
Whilst working on the Supa Pong update I discovered a glitch that only occurs in compiled games. If a REPEAT loop contains an IF THEN condition it returns a Script Error. Also, the Option key won't break out of a REPEAT loop if the REPEAT loop has an ON KEYDOWN block in it. Not that a REPEAT loop should have an ON EVENT block in it mind you, but I just had to try it.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2009, 09:19:46 AM by Silverwind »
I survived the spammage of 2007

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2009, 06:48:00 AM »
Quote
Whilst working on the Supa Pong update I discovered a glitch that only occurs in compiled games. If a REPEAT loop contains an IF THEN condition it returns a Script Error. Also, the Option key won't break out of a REPEAT loop if the REPEAT loop has an ON KEYDOWN block in it. Not that a REPEAT loop should have an ON EVENT block in it mind you, but I just had to try it.

I'll take a look at those. Thanks.

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2009, 03:16:16 PM »
Quote
If a REPEAT loop contains an IF THEN condition it returns a Script Error.

Have you tried using SELECT CASE for a work around? I should just try it myself.


Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2009, 03:20:51 PM »
I'll try that right away. *goes to do so*
I survived the spammage of 2007

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2009, 03:28:57 PM »
*reappears* Yup, SELECT CASE works. Thanks Al! :) Once again the day is saved by the ingenuity of a programmer!
I survived the spammage of 2007

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2009, 12:27:37 AM »
This code works fine when compiled:
Code: [Select]
x = 1
REPEAT 5
  IF x = 3 THEN
    PRINT X = $x$
  ELSE
    PRINT $x$
  END IF
  x = x + 1
END REPEAT

I also tried it without the ELSE

Code: [Select]
x = 1
REPEAT 5
  IF x = 3 THEN
    PRINT X = $x$
  END IF
  PRINT $x$
  x = x + 1
END REPEAT

and I tried it with a single line IF

Code: [Select]
x = 1
REPEAT 5
  PRINT $x$
  IF x = 3 THEN PRINT X = $x$
  x = x + 1
END REPEAT

They all worked. Could there be a different problem in your script?


Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2009, 02:03:43 PM »
Ah, you're right, it's actually the EXIT REPEAT command that's causing the trouble. Try this in a compiled app:

Code: [Select]
x = 0

REPEAT
  x = x + 1
  IF x = 5 THEN EXIT REPEAT
END REPEAT

ALERT Hello there.

The result for me is that GM stops running the script when it reads the EXIT REPEAT command, thus the ALERT line isn't executed. The glitch occurs regardless to the location of the code, (as in card script, button script, within an ON EVENT condition and so on) and for some strange reason that thing happened again where the app requires OS9 to play. It happened half a dozen times or so and then suddenly stopped happening after I made changes to the code.

Now I'm more baffled than ever.
I survived the spammage of 2007

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2009, 02:13:52 PM »
It said you need OS9 to play? That doesn't make any sense I would be so baffled I would die of a disease that my body created by its baffledness.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2805

  • For the glory of my maker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2009, 03:39:20 PM »
Quote
It said you need OS9 to play? That doesn't make any sense I would be so baffled I would die of a disease that my body created by its baffledness.
Yup, that gets my vote for April's Quote of The Month. ;D
I survived the spammage of 2007

Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2009, 04:16:23 PM »
Quote
for some strange reason that thing happened again where the app requires OS9 to play. It happened half a dozen times or so and then suddenly stopped happening after I made changes to the code.

Now I'm more baffled than ever.

If that happens, go to File and Get Info. Uncheck the Open in Classic box.


Al Staffieri


  • GMG-er

  • **

  • no avatar

  • Posts: 452

  • I love GameMaker
Re: GameMaker v3.9.93
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2009, 09:19:57 AM »
Quote
The result for me is that GM stops running the script when it reads the EXIT REPEAT command, thus the ALERT line isn't executed. The glitch occurs regardless to the location of the code, (as in card script, button script, within an ON EVENT condition and so on)

This was an easy fix. Thanks for pointing it out. All I had to do was delete a single line of code. I'll send you an update soon.