Topic:   Dev-Log: Connors' Game   (Read 11299 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Connors


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2353

  • It's a secret to everyone...
    • View Profile
Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« on: December 17, 2010, 11:01:29 PM »
I decided on a basic point-and-click puzzle adventure, based on the game I started earlier, at the time it was called Dungeon Escape. I was thinking about using GM's inventory before, but making a graphical one was way more fun.
https://sites.google.com/site/onronc/PnCEngineTest.zip?attredirects=0&d=
This is a link for the test of my brand new inventory system!
You click the button to open it and it shows you what items you have, and it closes if you click the button or automatically when you go to another card. I want to add a "use" button that lets you click the object on something on screen, and an "equip" button that lets you hold it in your hand. (like the lantern, or maybe a weapon)

TO-DO LIST:
 - equipping items
 - use button
 - "lighting"
 - floating text labels (shows the name of what you're hovering over)
 - (maybe) let the player re-organize the items
 - (maybe) dropping things on the ground.
 - 1st puzzle: (Easy) Escape the cell.
 - 2nd puzzle: ?
« Last Edit: January 01, 2011, 10:13:18 PM by Connors »
Warning: The above post may have been modified multiple times.

"In a great game, the character must never perfectly obey the user's command"
 - Tim Rogers

http://connorspuzzles.tumblr.com/

EqwanoX


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1172
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2010, 06:47:05 AM »
it might be easier if you used spritetouchingxy command instead of click areas
in mousedown:

if spritetouchingxy(spritenumber, mousex, mousey)=true then
code
end if

have numerous actions for one mouse button can get tricky, you might be better off with just clicking the item to either use it or equip it, dont bother with reorganizing. an easy way to show an item is equiped is by highlighting it with paint commands, when clicked:

 let equipsprite=spritenumber

then in the global paint event, in one line of code this will highlight the item

setpensize 3,3
setpencolor 0,250,0
if spritevalid(equipsprite)=true then drawrect spritex(equipsprite), spritey(equipsprite), spritewidth(equipsprite), spriteheight(equipsprite)


« Last Edit: December 18, 2010, 06:50:35 AM by EqwanoX »

Connors


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2353

  • It's a secret to everyone...
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2010, 09:24:23 AM »
Thanks for the tips! The click areas were sort of temporary so I could try it but the sprites do make more sense.
As for equipping/using items, I'll probably let the player equip one at a time, and that's the one you carry around, and the rest are in pockets or whatever. The use button will let you use an item on something in the scene.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2010, 09:28:17 AM by Connors »
Warning: The above post may have been modified multiple times.

"In a great game, the character must never perfectly obey the user's command"
 - Tim Rogers

http://connorspuzzles.tumblr.com/

Connors


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2353

  • It's a secret to everyone...
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2010, 07:55:06 PM »
 Updated the to-do list.
 Trying to figure the best way to draw a sprite behind the bars of a cell. I don't want to make them a sprite but I could....
Warning: The above post may have been modified multiple times.

"In a great game, the character must never perfectly obey the user's command"
 - Tim Rogers

http://connorspuzzles.tumblr.com/

EqwanoX


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1172
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2010, 08:07:37 AM »
is this in sc? just hold out till b3 comes out itll allow you to render sprites over paint commands

Connors


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2353

  • It's a secret to everyone...
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2010, 07:06:06 PM »
I meant a sprite of an item you pick up is behind something. I fixed it. Screenshots!
It's the 1st room and a new, shiny inventory. Photoshop is the best!


OK so these images aren't working, just copy and paste each URL. EDIT: ** Now I can see them. WTF? **
So, guys, where can I put them that this site can show them? Deviantart won't work anymore and this is my google space which also isn't showing them.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2010, 04:08:42 PM by Connors »
Warning: The above post may have been modified multiple times.

"In a great game, the character must never perfectly obey the user's command"
 - Tim Rogers

http://connorspuzzles.tumblr.com/

Charlo


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 450
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2010, 07:22:55 PM »
You gotta use [ img ] tags.  Or is that what you're using and it didn't work?
« Last Edit: December 20, 2010, 07:23:20 PM by Charlo »

Connors


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2353

  • It's a secret to everyone...
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2010, 08:18:16 PM »
I did use image tags, I've done it before. Just certain images aren't working. dA changed something so that won't work, and neither will my icon from Youtube or those two screenshots.
EDIT: I just came back and they work now. isn't it great?
« Last Edit: December 20, 2010, 09:14:09 PM by Connors »
Warning: The above post may have been modified multiple times.

"In a great game, the character must never perfectly obey the user's command"
 - Tim Rogers

http://connorspuzzles.tumblr.com/

WarHampster


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1501

  • The People's Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Arcade of the Absurd
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2010, 10:40:37 PM »
Looking good! I sometimes forget that GM and SC were originally made for point and click adventures.

Connors


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2353

  • It's a secret to everyone...
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2010, 09:25:02 AM »
That's why I picked this game. I figured once I have the engine finished I can keep adding rooms until the time is up. And I think I want to continue this after January 10th, I'm just going to submit what I can get done, like a beta version.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 09:34:09 AM by Connors »
Warning: The above post may have been modified multiple times.

"In a great game, the character must never perfectly obey the user's command"
 - Tim Rogers

http://connorspuzzles.tumblr.com/

Silverwind


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2785

  • For the glory of my maker
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2010, 11:32:23 AM »
Looks awesome Con! :D
I survived the spammage of 2007

Xiphos


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 676
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2010, 01:00:31 PM »
I really like the inventory screen!

Connors


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2353

  • It's a secret to everyone...
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2010, 08:05:15 PM »
Thanks guys, you're all really helpful. (especially considering it's a competition :P)
I'm gonna be gone for about 6 days so I probably can't work on this during that time. :( Except I can still make up some good puzzles. (muahahahaha )
Warning: The above post may have been modified multiple times.

"In a great game, the character must never perfectly obey the user's command"
 - Tim Rogers

http://connorspuzzles.tumblr.com/

Connors


  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • ****


  • Posts: 2353

  • It's a secret to everyone...
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2011, 10:26:34 PM »
I GOT THE USE ITEMS BUTTON TO WORK!!! ;D ;D ;D
It was being glitchy. So was the lighting. Now you can equip or use items, so I can continue with building more rooms, because the inventory is done. I'm gonna tweak a few things tomorrow and try to have another test version ready! Still deciding how the layout of all the rooms/puzzles will work out so as to make the game challenging but not ridiculous, i.e. "How the #### was I supposed to know to click that??"

PS: I can't find a way to change the card's titles in SC and it's driving me nuts. It would help the game if there was a simple room title at the top like "Jail Cell" or "Escape Tunnel" or "River Bank" or "That One Room That Creeps You Out For Some Reason"...little help plz? :P

PPS: Also need a better font than "Chicago" but I hate searching through them. What's a good one?
« Last Edit: January 01, 2011, 10:29:05 PM by Connors »
Warning: The above post may have been modified multiple times.

"In a great game, the character must never perfectly obey the user's command"
 - Tim Rogers

http://connorspuzzles.tumblr.com/

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4365
    • View Profile
Re: Dev-Log: Connors' Game
« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2011, 10:46:26 PM »
Comic Sans