Topic:   Need bug/lag testers   (Read 14556 times)


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Teruri


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 167

  • This personal text couldn\'t be worse
Need bug/lag testers
« on: August 12, 2008, 09:05:01 AM »
Hello, I'm new to this board.
Becouse there is a spam bot on the SC board, I taught it would be saver for me to not visit it for a few days.

Anyway, I'm working on a board game. It's like checkers. I made the first version of the engine (very basic).
But there is a lot code to check if the player can move the piece they want. This might lag on some computers. This is were you come in, could you please download my test version and play around with it? If you find anything weird, make a screenshot/screencap and post it here.
The download:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=44AOE6QF

Please, don't note my english. I'm Dutch and it isn't my first language.
Max 500; characters remaining: 466

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 09:06:05 AM »
Sure, I will test.

What's the point of the game? All I did was re-arrange the game pieces. What's it about?


-Gandolf
« Last Edit: August 12, 2008, 09:11:33 AM by Gandolf »

Teruri


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 167

  • This personal text couldn\'t be worse
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2008, 09:14:47 AM »
Quote
Sure, I will test.

What's the point of the game? All I did was re-arrange the game pieces. What's it about?


-Gandolf

It's just an test version (made it yesterday, so haven't really worked on it). I have to make the real goals, but I wanted to know if the game lags, or not. If the game lags, I could change the code so it doesn't lag.
Max 500; characters remaining: 466

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2008, 09:16:25 AM »
Ah :)

It's pretty fast. No lag on my G4 mac.


-Gandolf

Charlo


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 451
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2008, 02:28:32 PM »
I can't download it right now because I just downloaded something off of megaupload.  http://www.mediafire.com/ seems to be pretty popular on these boards, I would use that instead of megaupload.

I will download and comment as soon as I can.  It sounds interesting.   ;)
« Last Edit: August 12, 2008, 02:28:56 PM by Charlo »

Teruri


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 167

  • This personal text couldn\'t be worse
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2008, 02:34:16 PM »
The code used in that test doesn't work when I want to code "hopping" over pieces.
So I'm coding it again, using another way. And hopefully, cutting alot of the code.
Max 500; characters remaining: 466

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2008, 02:36:28 PM »
I can help. One way that cuts down code and really helps me is fake arrays.

If you need any help, just ask.


-Gandolf

Tireas Dragon


  • GMG Extraordinaire

  • ***


  • Posts: 1626

  • Trying to recover from my shattered screen.
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2008, 09:00:54 PM »
Runs just fine I experienced no lag.
I must be dreaming (wake up me wake up) How could this have happened. Tireas' cry when he found his computer fallen over in his chair with it's screen shattered.

Teruri


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 167

  • This personal text couldn\'t be worse
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2008, 09:44:28 AM »
Quote
I can help. One way that cuts down code and really helps me is fake arrays.

If you need any help, just ask.


-Gandolf

I'm probably going to stick with that. I tried using invisible sprites and spritouching but two for loops screw each other up so it didn't really work. :(
Max 500; characters remaining: 466

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2008, 09:58:16 AM »
I can help you do anything you need. Just ask what you want done.


-Gandolf

Teruri


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 167

  • This personal text couldn\'t be worse
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2008, 02:54:45 PM »
Quote
I can help you do anything you need. Just ask what you want done.


-Gandolf
Some help would be nice.

In the opencard I made these two strings:
Code: [Select]
LET locations$ = "1:3:5:7:9:16:17:18:19:20:21:22:23:24:25"
LET board$ = "1:0:1:0:1:0:1:0:1:0:0:0:0:0:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1"

In the mousedown, I made a script that locates the sprite the player clicked on. This shows the red border around the right piece, etc.
But it also gets the players location in the two strings above.

Code: [Select]
LET currlocation$ = NTHFIELD$(locations$,":",spriteselected)
               LET location = val(location$)
               LET left$ = ""
               LET right$ = ""
               LET up$ = ""
               LET down$ = ""
              
               IF NTHFIELD$(board$,":",location - 1) = "1" then
                  LET left$ = "block"
               END IF
              
               IF NTHFIELD$(board$,":",location + 1) = "1" then
                  LET right$ = "block"
               END IF
              
               IF NTHFIELD$(board$,":",location + 5) = "1" then
                  LET up$ = "block"
               END IF
              
               IF NTHFIELD$(board$,":",location - 5) = "1" then
                  LET down$ = "block"
               END IF

Becouse there are 15 sprites and 15 numbers in the location string, the number in currlocation$ is the number of the square you are on. This then is converted to an integer to do some math with it to check if there are pieces that block the players piece.
This all works.

But the pieces aren't static so I have to update the strings.
Example:
If I move sprite two from square 3 to 2 (one to the left):
LET locations$ = "1:3:5:7:9:16:17:18:19:20:21:22:23:24:25"
becomse
LET locations$ = "1:2:5:7:9:16:17:18:19:20:21:22:23:24:25"

And

LET board$ = "1:0:1:0:1:0:1:0:1:0:0:0:0:0:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1"
becomse

LET board$ = "1:1:0:0:1:0:1:0:1:0:0:0:0:0:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1"

I tried to use this code:http://www.silvercreator.net/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=sccode;action=display;num=1215970619
to do this but the strings become messed up.
Could any of you help me with updating these two strings?
Max 500; characters remaining: 466

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2008, 04:35:41 PM »
First one bit confuses me.
Code: [Select]
      LET location = val(location$) 
The var location$ isn't in the script, so I have no idea how that affects the code.

Second I've ran into problems with changefield too but I figured a better way to get what I need done.
Instead of using changefield I put a number in front of each number and use the replace command.

Code: [Select]
LET locations$ = "1;1:2;3:3;5:4;7:5;9:6;16:7;17:8;18:9;19:10;20:11;21:12;22:13;23:14;24:15;25"
LET board$ = "1;1:2;0:3;1:4;0:5;1:6;0:7;1:8;0:9;1:10;0:11;0:12;0:13;0:14;0:15;1:16;1:17;1:18;1:19;1:20;1:21;1:22;1:23;1:24;1"

If I wanted to change the first number of locations$ to 2, I would do this:
Code: [Select]
PRINT "Before : " + locations$
LET changelocplaceto = 1
LET changenumberto = 2
LET data$ = STR$(changelocplaceto) + ";" + STR$(changenumberto)
LET locations$ = REPLACE$(locations$, NTHFIELD$(locations$, ":", changelocplaceto), data$)
PRINT "After : " + locations$

The outcome would appear like this:
Quote
Before : 1;1:2;3:3;5:4;7:5;9:6;16:7;17:8;18:9;19:10;20:11;21:12;22:13;23:14;24:15;25
After : 1;2:2;3:3;5:4;7:5;9:6;16:7;17:8;18:9;19:10;20:11;21:12;22:13;23:14;24:15;25

It changes the number of changelocplaceto. If you would change that var to any other number, it would still work.



-Gandolf
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 04:38:06 PM by Gandolf »

Teruri


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 167

  • This personal text couldn\'t be worse
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2008, 04:45:20 PM »
Quote
First one bit confuses me.
Code: [Select]
      LET location = val(location$) 
The var location$ isn't in the script, so I have no idea how that affects the code.
I changed location$ to currlocation$ to avoid confusion, but forgot to change it everywhere.

I'll try your way of changing the numbers.
Max 500; characters remaining: 466

Gan


  • Administrator

  • ^ This guy is amazing.

  • *****


  • Posts: 4411
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2008, 04:49:35 PM »
Okay. :) My way may be a bit confusing, if you run into any more trouble, just ask.



-Gandolf

Teruri


  • GMG-er

  • **


  • Posts: 167

  • This personal text couldn\'t be worse
Re: Need bug/lag testers
« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2008, 05:13:47 PM »
The change works in location but with board it is a bit confusing.

Code: [Select]
LET board$ = "1*1:2*0:3*1:4*0:5*1:6*0:7*1:8*0:9*1:10*0:11*0:12*0:13*0:14*0:15*1:16*1:17*1:18*1:19*1:20*1:21*1:22*1:23*1:24*1:25*1"

What the code has to do is:

If I move a piece from sqaure 3 to 1 it has to replace 2*0 with 2*1 and 3*1 with 3*0. However, I can't seem to get it work. It just changes the first 1 it encounters. =/

I can't answer. It's past midnight here so I have to get some sleep.
Max 500; characters remaining: 466